top of page

#Novihalfmarathon #training #043017

**You can click on either of these pictures to be directed to the Novi Half Marathon website, if you feel inclined to check it out, or sign up yourself!**

So. Here I am, half way through my half marathon training. I sort of wish I would've written a blog at the very beginning, but I didn't have this up and running yet. I figured I'd write one now, and then when I finish and accomplish it! Again, this is just my personal story, sort of for documentation for the future, as well as to inspire, motivate, and possibly prompt you to ask me questions that you may have...enjoy!

This idea of running a half, popped in my head after Christmas. I had accomplished a 5k, and a 10k, and I felt the need to push myself further. I truly gave the idea of a half marathon a lot of thought, and time, before deciding to sign up. It definitely was not an easy decision. I knew I had to come up with some sort of training plan, in order to go through with this idea of mine. As soon as I clicked "register", is when I came up with this training plan.

I truly had no clue what I was doing. I came up with this by "Googling" and reading about "how" to train, "how much" mileage, "where", and I spoke with Justin and a few other people to pick their brain. The first month I stuck to the plan pretty much to a "T". I would feel guilty if I missed anything I was "supposed" to do, so I would make up the run, no matter when, or what it took. Being "perfect" in my pre-training, was very overwhelming, and very stressful. I planted this seed in my head that I thought I "had" to do this plan very specifically, or else I would fail. Unfortunately I have a pre dis-positioned "all-or-nothing" mindset. Either I do exactly what I planned, or I do nothing at all. I quickly learned, that if I wanted to follow through with my 17-week training plan, I had to change my mindset.

The second month of training, which would've been February, was even worse! Again, I was thinking I had to be perfect with my training, and when I realized I couldn't live up to my own expectations, I was angry, disappointed, and guilty. Many times I thought about giving up, because I didn't think I had it in me to continue with all the guilt and stress that I'd been putting on myself. I got sick with the flu in late February, which kept me on the couch for 4 days. As I started to recover, I realized how much I'd missed running during that time I had off. It was then, that a switch turned for me.

It's only been a couple weeks since that moment, but currently I feel so much less pressure! Again, I've had many conversations with Justin and another friend on my business team (Hi Alison!) - who is also training for a half right now...and with these conversations I realized I DON'T have to be perfect. No matter how many times someone has told me, I previously still felt it in me. Over the past couple weeks I understood that my training plan was my issue this whole time. I had planned on running 5 days a week, which come to find out, was way too much for ME. I can't speak for everyone, but this was putting the unneeded pressure on me. I also realized that what I read in articles about "cross-training" on my "off days", was essential! I had been so focused on getting the miles in, that I lost sight of keeping my entire body strong, not just moving my legs to get through these weeks, and through the finish line.

I have now tweaked my training plan to run 3 times a week (once during the week, and 2 times on the weekend). These miles will vary somewhat, but I'll definitely be sticking to my longer Saturday or Sunday runs, increasing the mileage every weekend until I hit 13 miles on 4/30/17. The other running days, I'll run how much I feel like my body can handle! The past few days I've also been cross training, and I feel so much better! I feel like I am getting stronger in other areas besides just my running legs!

I am now, confident that I will be able to finish out these last 7 weeks strong and motivated!!

I am so excited to complete this half marathon for so many different reasons, which will be in a future post. I know that my body is what keeps me physically going through this training process, but I owe my mental state all to Justin. These past 2 months he's heard me complain, whine, get mad, frustrated, angry; and throughout all these emotions he has been a rock. Literally someone that is there to bear all of my emotions, stay calm, relaxed, and just talk me through it. He keeps his mouth shut when he knows he should, gives me advice when he knows I need it, and loves me throughout it all. He has also been there for me every step of the way through my little milestones of running my highest miles. Without him I am not sure how I'd handle running these long runs (7 miles this past weekend) alone. I am positive I could do it, but it'd be a whole heck of a lot harder without his silly butt running next to me, singing, telling me stories, making me laugh, and of course annoying me at times when I'm tired, exhausted and in my "serious" mode. <3

Thanks for reading and I can't wait to update this blog after April 30th! I'm so pumped!

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page