top of page

Mingling of Souls

(Originally written 2/19/17)

I've been waiting for a little while to write my first blog post, because I wanted it to be something that really meant a lot to me. Over the past 13 months, I have been growing my relationship with God, and it's been the most rewarding 13 months of my life. I remember sitting in my mom's living room in January of 2016 and telling her I was going to start going to church, to "give it a try." That night we had a conversation, both of us discussing and explaining that we don't understand what people are talking about when they say they have a relationship with God. Neither of us had ever felt that, but I knew something inside me was missing. In my journey, God led me to Justin. Here's part of our story.

Justin and I got introduced via Facebook from a mutual friend; Marcy. She knew both of us, separately. I remember so vividly, getting a phone call from my aunt around 5 pm letting me know that a "personal trainer" is going to contact me on Facebook, and it was one of Marcy's friends. I was laughing because I asked her if I really needed a personal trainer that bad (I was working on getting into shape at this point) ...and she laughed and said no. I was skeptical, I told God that I don't want anyone romantically in my life , it was really just going to complicate it at that point...but at the same time, I had trust in Marcy and my Aunt that this person wouldn't be a low-life, loser...so I was open to a "Facebook message". Justin sent me a message introducing himself that day (5/20/16), around 6 pm. We spoke over messaging for a few hours that night, as well as me stalking his profile, trying to get an idea of who I was talking to. The next morning, we again, picked up our conversation where we left off and later that day, he asked if I was able to meet up with him to meet in person and talk. Again, I was skeptical, but we went out around 9 pm that night, so about 24 hours after we had "met" on Facebook.

During that first date, if that's what you want to call it; I knew God had a plan, and I wasn't in charge. I had Faith that He knew what He was doing, and I made a promise to myself that night, not to stereo-type, and whatever was happening, just let it happen. The conversation with Justin that night was more than anything I'd hoped for; we had a deeper connection that night, than I had previously had with any other person I'd ever dated. I didn't understand how it was possible, but again, I "let go and let God."

Right now isn't the time to explain our whole dating process and how it went, but my point of telling you all of this, is this meeting Justin wasn't a "coincidence", it was God's purpose and plan, that we connected, and I personally knew that, from the start. There were so many things that stick out to me in the beginning that I knew what Justin and I had was more than just a "fling." I had a dream a couple nights after I met him, with the song "Like I'm Going to Lose you" by Megan Trainor. In the dream, it was just the song playing, and Justin and I were in my dream. It was a defining moment for me, because I knew then, that Justin was going to be so much more than what I thought I was ready for.

​Here we are this weekend, and we went to a Marriage Conference at LifeChurch. We've been involved the past couple months doing pre-marital work with church, to gain knowledge and tools needed to have a wonderful marriage. Friday night when we got there, they played a few worship songs in the beginning, to start off the weekend. The last of the 3 songs they played, was "Great Are You Lord." This song has really been a starting song in Justin's journey, that has been constantly playing, non-coincidently, since November. For this song to be a kick-off song for the night, on our first part of our Marriage Conference, was another way that God validated that we were where He wanted us to be, and He was watching over us and guiding us to where He wants our marriage to go.

Friday night was the first part of our conference that went over "The Covenant" as well as "Progress." I won't get into these topics too much, but at the end of night one, as we were getting ready to leave, there was music playing in the background, and low-and-behold it was "Like I'm going to Lose you" by Megan Trainor, playing. God speaks to us all day every day, but being open to Him communicating to you, is really up to you. During that moment I stood there and smiled. Here we were, Justin and I standing in the very same church in this moment, during this marriage conference, that I told God 9 months previous, that I didn't want any male in my life, unless it was going to be my Soulmate. It is not a coincidence. In that moment, God was validating He was there with us and that we were living out His purpose for our life.

I've personally been on this journey with God for 13 short months, and I'm learning so much, but it's really all about baby-steps. When God validates things like this for me, seemingly every day; I know that I'm doing the right thing in life and I'm in the relationship He wants me to be in, and I am marrying the person that God created to be in my life. I can't explain to you how full, happy, and content I feel with all these given factors. I'm so excited for our future together and I can't wait to see where God takes us in life, because this is just the beginning.

  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page